Local elections tomorrow

photo by Jackie Ramirez from Pixabay

Election Day is tomorrow (Tuesday, Nov. 5) for Marion County’s school boards and city councils. In addition to choosing representatives to fill seats on these respective bodies, there will also be revenue purpose statements on the ballot for voters in the Knoxville and Pella School Districts.

The revenue purpose statement vote is not a ballot question that will increase taxes. Approval is sought to clarify the purposes for which school districts can use sales tax funds they are already going to receive.

The one-cent sales tax, also known as Secure an Advanced Vision for Education (SAVE), was reauthorized by the Iowa legislature last spring. At the same time, the legislature stipulated that school districts must renew their existing Revenue Purpose Statements to keep investing in projects per the community’s wishes.

As of Monday, Nov. 4, at 8:20 a.m., the Marion County Auditor’s Office reports that 210 absentee ballots have been mailed out and 188 voted at the office’s window on the second floor of the courthouse.

For those who intend to vote on Election Day, you can find your poll site here.

Voters are required to show an Iowa Driver’s License or Non-operator ID, U.S. Passport, U.S. Military ID or Veteran’s ID, Tribal ID/Document or Iowa Voter ID Card at the polls before they vote. A voter without one of the listed forms of ID may have the voter’s identity attested to by another registered voter in the precinct or may prove identity and residence using Election Day Registration documents. Voters without the necessary ID or an attester will be offered a provisional ballot and can provide ID up until Tuesday, November 12 at 12:00 pm to the Marion County Auditor’s Office. Voters changing precincts must also provide proof of residence, if proof of identity does not contain the voter’s current address. Please call the Marion County Auditor’s Office at 641-828-2217 with any Voter ID questions.

Candidates for School Boards include:

Knoxville – Cheri Gerdes, Billy Burkhart, Larissa Van Donselaar, Ann Fields, Dave Smith
Melcher-Dallas – John Milburn, Jr., Seth Williams, David Tickle, Robert Lepley
Pella – Annette Smith (at-large), Tim Tripp (District 1), Gary Coppock (District 2)
Pleasantville – Mark Core, Carol Beier, Michelle Greene, Josh Cook
Twin Cedars – Mike Weldon (District 1), Kelly Carlson (District 2), Jolinda Fairchild (District 4).

Candidates for Mayor include:

Bussey – Larry Pinegar
Harvey – Dennis Seibert
Knoxville – Brian Hatch
Melcher-Dallas – Collin Hyatt, Louis Karpan, Barb Van Wyk
Pella – Bruce Schiebout, Don DeWaard
Pleasantville – Steve Marsh

Towns not listed have no candidates on the ballot.

Candidates for City Council include:

Bussey – Stephen Finch, Wade Bonnett, William Greatbatch
Harvey – Sue VerMeer, Jamie VanderVeer, Leonard Geery, Lyle Koons, Martin Heaton
Knoxville – John Gotta, Mike Conner, Jr., Jyl DeJong, Justin Plum, Jerry Jordan. (Scott Ziller’s name will be on the ballot, though he has since dropped out of the race.)
Melcher-Dallas – Seth Williams, Bradley Branson, Terry Fisher, David Ernst, Mark Moon
Pella (at-large) – Chris Meyers, Tony Bokhoven, Liz Sporrer. (ward 2) – Calvin Bandstra, Robin Pfalzgraf, Nicolle Picray, Harold Van Stryland. (ward 4) – David Hopkins, William Harkins.
Pleasantville – Kyle Patterson, Cody Jurgens, Carol Allen.
Swan – Bob Harding

Sample ballots for all voters can be found on the County’s website. They are also posted at the auditor’s office.

Look to www.marioncountytribune.com for full coverage of tomorrow’s elections.

This story has been edited since its original post.